Insomnia [Memento Mori Edition]

Updated
 
6.1 (2)
 
7.0 (5)
3106 6 0

User reviews

5 reviews
Overall rating
 
7.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A(0)
Audio Editing
 
N/A(0)
Visual Editing
 
N/A(0)
Narrative
 
N/A(0)
Enjoyment
 
7.0(5)
Back to Listing
5 results - showing 1 - 5
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
5.0
August 14, 2011

Sorry bro. I watched this but it just didn’t work for me. As mentioned above the transitions were a little rough. Video and audio quality were good though.

More importantly, I just didn’t buy into the editing decision to break the continuity of this movie, which is the crux of the edit. It made the story very difficult to follow for anyone not already very familiar with the movie, and there was no payoff at the end when the two timelines meet. In Memento and Jorge’s Blue Skies on Mars, it works because it serves the story and there is a payoff. In this and Jorge’s Dark Knight it doesn’t work for me. I don’t like being confused solely for the sake of being confused.

One thing this edit did do for me is remind me just how good and under-appreciated this Chris Nolan movie is. Outstanding Al Pacino performance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
8.0
March 31, 2011

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
6.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
6.0
January 12, 2011

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
8.0
September 28, 2010

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
8.0
September 28, 2010

I am very surprised to see no reviews or ratings yet for this edit, since it has been out for a few weeks. I think it may be for the fact that it was not a huge blockbuster and does not have the Star Wars crowd in mind? Ehh whatever the reason it pleases me to be the first

I found this to be rather awesome. The Memento like backwards chronological order added a whole other feeling and level to the actual film. The story still flows well. In essence it kind of gave me an overall impression as if David Lynch re-edited the film to his style of cinema.

The only minor whim I had was the transitions of the past with the present. Regular fade outs/ins were used for this and I think the fades went too quickly, so that for the brief nanosecond I was psychically removed from the film. Once the transition ended I was right back in again. Perhaps if longer, gradual (cross fade) fades were used it might have went a little smoother. Occasionally I would also see a slight shutter effect of movement. It happened roughly only twice in the film and no idea why since everything else was on key, and something most of everyone would not notice at all.

Not better than the original but awesome as an alterative viewing choice
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
5 results - showing 1 - 5