Reflections

Updated
 
8.5 (2)
 
9.9 (27)
4063 5 2

User reviews

8 reviews with 7-9 stars
27 reviews
 
70%
 
30%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0(1)
Audio Editing
 
N/A(0)
Visual Editing
 
10.0(1)
Narrative
 
N/A(0)
Enjoyment
 
9.0(27)
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2
Ordering
(Updated: September 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
8.0
January 21, 2010 @ 12:57 pm

A solid improvement over the original yet the source material still retains its disadvantages. The editing is faultless, as is the sound design but I feel some more poorly acted scenes could have been removed such as the cliched and poorly acted/directed opening argument with the estranged wife. Removing this scene and cutting directly to Ben’s first night as a security guard would have added to the isolation and loneliness of the main character.

All the other scenes removed are done so for good reason. There is a cool extra called “Those Darn Mirrors” that breaks down the faults in logic of the original version. I also liked the colour correction, which brings a much needed coldness (and crispness) to the image. 8/10
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
8.0
March 14, 2011 @ 3:11 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
8.0
August 31, 2009 @ 12:06 am

This edit worked really well for me. I had not seen the original, and didn’t feel I was missing anything (which made it enjoyable afterward to read about all the stuff that was cut). The only thing I would have done different (or at least would have tried), would be to tone down his sister’s violent death. As it was, with so little violence in the rest of the movie, it felt particularly shocking and out of place for me. But I realize that I watch scary movies for different reasons than other people, and I’m probably alone in complaining about too much violence.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
8.0
July 23, 2009 @ 2:04 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
7.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
7.0
April 8, 2009 @ 8:01 pm

Well, I was prepared to write a detailed review of this, but I see El Barto has pretty much done it for me! I agree with all of his points about the edit. In summation: Semi-entertaining but still flawed thriller with a few really cool moments and an improved ending, technically solid edit.

Knowing the elements Boon has removed here it is a no-brainer that this is better than the original by far. Recommended as a late night watch.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
8 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2