Spider-Man 3: The Darkness Within

Updated
 
8.0
 
9.6 (15)
6276 3 2

User reviews

5 reviews with 9-10 stars
15 reviews
 
33%
 
47%
 
20%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
9.6
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.5(2)
Audio Editing
 
10.0(2)
Visual Editing
 
10.0(2)
Narrative
 
10.0(1)
Enjoyment
 
7.9(15)
Back to Listing
5 results - showing 1 - 5
Ordering
Overall rating
 
9.3
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Foreword: I haven't seen the original in sometime, which prefer for watching edits and I also didn't review your changes ahead of watching, which I also prefer. I looked at the edit list back when I downloaded the edit, but I like to not know exactly what I'm walking into so I don't watch an edit for a few months or more after downloading them.

What I liked: It felt like a watchable movie. I was happy you took out the "He might still be alive" bit at the end with Venom. I liked what bit of goof and campiness you left in. No Spider-Man should ever be completely dark, because he just doesn't seem like that kind of character. Sandman seemed to make more sense to me as a character.

What I didn't: Video quality, but that was a small thing. I had the AVI. There was some re-ordering that was a little confusing for a bit, but I don't mind it terribly since I usually prefer a movie that requires thought, just a small note there..

Overall: A lot of reviews seemed to think Spider-Man 3 should have no cheese or campiness, I can't agree. I also can't agree with you saying that now this movie fits in with the first two, because it seems to only fit the first one. The second movie is too much of a train wreck to keep up with your edit. To me it used to be the 3rd was so bad it made the 2nd seem okay but no longer!
Really well done. I was very impressed that when the movie was over I found I had actually enjoyed Spider-Man 3!

Extra: This edit would benefit from a re-encode from the source material.

A/V Quality - 8 (6 really but since this is possibly a bootleg AVI I don’t want to punish editor)

ut I also like this alternate version, which successfully removes the campiness factor.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by Link — February 22, 2009 @ 3:04 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by chowyunfat01 — August 1, 2008 @ 9:19 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by dop — June 3, 2008 @ 7:09 am

Man, I adored this edit, you made it so much bether.

The only thing I tougth felt out of place, and its so minor I feel ridiculous pointing it out, is the music for the menu/few seconds before the initial credits, as much as I love the campy music from the old toons it felt really out of place in whats suposed to be the darker version of the story as it should have been, but like I said, its so minor its almost irrelevant. The actuall edit of the film was absolutley perfect, personally I really liked the way you cut the phone conversations scenes and aded the new music on top of it, it felt absolutley diferent in a good way, nice bold move that for me payed off big.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.8
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
6.0
Review by Ghostcut — January 20, 2008 @ 12:38 pm

I really wanted to like Spider-Man 3, but when I got the DVD and tried to watch it, I couldn’t help but skip through a 3 hour film, which was messy, badly acted and written, and just far too long.

ADM’s Spider-Man 3 attempted to tackle some of the worst parts of the film, like Saturday Night Peter (in which I think How It Should Have Ended parodied it perfectly) and the more pointless moments.

However, unfortunately there is a lot that should have gone. Much of the things revolving around Mary-Jane were longer than they should have been. (Just for the record, I didn’t mind ADM leaving Bruce Campbell in, I really enjoyed those moments which brought levity to an otherwise poor scene). But it is a marked improvement over the original film, and although I found myself skipping many scenes I did like this much better than the original.

Technically, as always, it is excellently edited. Absolutely flawless, can’t fault it.

The problem is that ADM basically wasn’t brutal enough with his editing.

The original film I personally gave 2 out of 5 for watchability, I give this fan edit 3 out of 5 in that category.

Technical achievement is 5 out of 5, as with pretty much all ADM fan edits it’s perfect (see above).

All together I give it 3 out of 5. I may be doing another fan edit based on this one in the future, as if I did it myself I would have cut exactly the things he has.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
5 results - showing 1 - 5