Star Wars - Episode II: Attack of the Phantom

Updated
 
8.0 (2)
 
8.9 (33)
6480 0 7

User reviews

33 reviews
 
73%
 
27%
5-7 stars
 
0%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.5(6)
Audio Editing
 
9.0(4)
Visual Editing
 
9.4(5)
Narrative
 
8.4(5)
Enjoyment
 
9.2(33)
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Ordering
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by googooquik — June 14, 2009 @ 8:58 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by Tpiom — August 24, 2011 @ 1:46 am

It’s a bit sad that he left the Yoda vs Dooku in it… I think it ruined the film, and could have easily been cut out as he originally wanted to. But it’s still a great edit!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
8.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
6.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
Review by Radi0n — August 21, 2010 @ 12:50 pm

-During the first half of the film, Anakin is still too arrogant. Too much of Christensen’s horrid “performance” still shines through.
-After Zam Wessel takes a hard left turn in her ship, and Obi-Wan and Anakin keep flying straight ahead, they suddenly both end up at the bar in the next shot.
-Obi-Wan still sounds as if he has a cold and a blocked nose when replying to Anakin when the latter says Zam went into the bar. That could have gone too. Obi-Wan isn’t supposed to catch a cold until on Kamino [sic].
-The Death stick sequence should have been dropped altogether.
-The “Jedi-business” line still sounds amazingly arrogant.
-Anakin still looks like a creep when looking at Padmé ‘like that’, although that can’t be fixed.
-It’s still remarkably funny, and a little bit stupid, to hear the bartender shout “Hey, no droids in here” at R2, while he is in fact one himself.
-While it doesn’t exactly improve the film’s pacing, the scenes at Padmé’s house with her family are great additions to the love story.
-Along with the raid on the Raider’s encampment (pun intended), the Speeder bike scene is probably Christensen’s finest moment.
It could have something to do with him not having any dialogue there, but I’m not sure.
- Although it’s imperative to the plot, Anakin’s crazed rant when returning from the Tusken camp has terrible dialogue AND acting, which I think cannot be fixed without cutting up half the scene, or the entire scene, if necessary.
- NO Star Wars film should contain Lucas family cameos. Apparently, this cut no longer does, which is a VERY good thing.
- Another point of grief, although few will know her by name, is the presence of Sarrissa Jeng left intact in the film.
- Natalie Portman still looks hot in her outfit.
- Windu’s fight with Jango should have been flipped. Windu starts out on the left, and engages Jango from the right side to center screen in the next shot.
The final fight could have been trimmed down to not include the light show display by Dooku and Skywalker, as well as Yoda’s interference, which should have been reduced to a Force power display only.

TECHNICAL ASPECTS

VIDEO:
noticed no hard cuts, hiccups or jumps of any kind.
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars

AUDIO:
same as above, nothing wrong here.
Overall: 5out of 5 stars

PRESENTATION:
as with TPE, another great menu in the style of the original, with a funny little intro by Yoda. Excellent.
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars

IMPROVEMENT OVER THE ORIGINAL:
Although better than TPM, and only ever so little, it’s still a horrid film. This edit couldn’t change all that much.
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars

FINAL SCORE: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Adds up to a fanedit score of:
8 out of 10 stars
(If you’re wondering why 4.5 times two doesn’t make 9 here, check ‘improvement over the original)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.6
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
5.0
Review by amatar — June 29, 2010 @ 1:38 pm

I watched every single Star Wars movie when they came out in the theatres. I was 4 when the original came out, and I was first in line to see TPM in theatres - I only had to wait 12 hours, as the theatre I went to didn't tell anyone they were selling advanced tickets, and I managed to get a hold of some - so I wasn't one of those poor bastards who had to camp out for a month to be the first in lol

Anyways, AOTC was the only one of the saga I never saw in the theatre, and I don't regret it at all. After renting it, I hated it with a stinking passion like nothing I can quite describe. A worse movie could not have been made.

I watched this edit, and it seems as though everything that was horrible about this movie was cut out - my God, it is actually watchable!

Video Quality: 10
Audio Quality: 10
Editing: 10
Improvement over the original: This is where I have to complain, which is truly too bad. I will explain:

The opening crawl:

The opening crawl explains why he did the edits he did, completely blowing away ANY sort of continuity with the rest of the saga.

It honestly set the tone as some sort of a satire, I couldn't take it seriously after reading it, and it completely ruined the movie for me, which is honestly and truly too bad, as the editing, sound and video were 100% top notch. I cannot possibly complain about any of the editing decisions. Great direction. Great choices.

I understand the urge to explain WHY you did the edit, but couldn't the explanation be done in a disclaimer or something BEFORE the movie started? I'm very sorry to say that I had to delete this edit. I will try to find something that comes close I guess.

I am having a hard time rating this movie overall, as you did such a wonderful job technically. In the end, sadly, I have to give it a 5 out of 10 as the movie was ruined before it started, the mood is half of the movie. The technical side is the other half, and that half gets top marks.

I cannot recommend this edit if you want a true Star Wars movie. If you don't pay attention to the opening crawl in the first place, then this edit is for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by aarkus — June 10, 2009 @ 9:39 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
33 results - showing 11 - 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7