Star Wars - Episode I: The Phantom Menace Review

Updated
 
9.2 (4)
 
8.9 (23)
2357 5 3
phanrev_front
Faneditor Name:
Franchise:
Fanedit Type:
Original Release Date:
1999
Original Running Time:
136 minutes
Fanedit Release Date:
Fanedit Running Time:
70 minutes
True fanedit of the month December 2009:
Synopsis:
The truly epic review/critique/analysis/film making educational video of the 1999 film “Star Wars: The Phantom Menace” There was so much to discuss with this film it had to be long so please don’t complain.
Intention:
from Scott Macauley: “this isn’t your usual fanboy rant, this is an epic, well-edited well-constructed piece of geek film criticism. In fact, the way I learned about the video was from Lost co-creator and Star Trek producer Damon Lindelof, who said “Your life is about to change. This is astounding film making.
This is the type of deconstruction of that shit film and Lucas I’ve been waiting for. It’s like the culmination of every hate-spewed conversation you’ve ever had about the prequels and George himself–but hilarious. Also, douches, he’s mispronouncing things on purpose to be funny.”
Release Information:
DVD
Editing Details:
RLM carefully addressed what had to be addressed and created a new unique character for storytelling. Sorted, constructed, thought through, with lots and and lots of examples. ATTENTION: This is not really suitable for kids (unlike the original movie that is hardly suitable for non-kids).
father_merrin_phantomMenaceReview_cover
phantomMenaceReview_disc_by_boon23
phantomMenaceReview_cover_by_boon23
father_merrin_phantomMenaceReview_disc
Faneditor Name:
Franchise:
Fanedit Type:
Original Release Date:
1999
Original Running Time:
136 minutes
Fanedit Release Date:
Fanedit Running Time:
70 minutes
True fanedit of the month December 2009:
Synopsis:
The truly epic review/critique/analysis/film making educational video of the 1999 film “Star Wars: The Phantom Menace” There was so much to discuss with this film it had to be long so please don’t complain.
Intention:
from Scott Macauley: “this isn’t your usual fanboy rant, this is an epic, well-edited well-constructed piece of geek film criticism. In fact, the way I learned about the video was from Lost co-creator and Star Trek producer Damon Lindelof, who said “Your life is about to change. This is astounding film making.
This is the type of deconstruction of that shit film and Lucas I’ve been waiting for. It’s like the culmination of every hate-spewed conversation you’ve ever had about the prequels and George himself–but hilarious. Also, douches, he’s mispronouncing things on purpose to be funny.”
Release Information:
DVD
Editing Details:
RLM carefully addressed what had to be addressed and created a new unique character for storytelling. Sorted, constructed, thought through, with lots and and lots of examples. ATTENTION: This is not really suitable for kids (unlike the original movie that is hardly suitable for non-kids).
Cover art by boon23 (DOWNLOAD HERE) image

Cover art by Father Merrin (DOWNLOAD HERE) image

Trusted Reviewer reviews

4 reviews
Overall rating
 
9.2
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0(2)
Audio Editing
 
10.0(2)
Visual Editing
 
10.0(2)
Narrative
 
9.5(2)
Enjoyment
 
9.8(4)
Overall rating
 
8.8
Audio/Video Quality
 
6.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
10.0
I've watched these reviews more times than the prequels.
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
(Updated: September 10, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
9.0
Review by ThrowgnCpr — December 22, 2009 @ 3:33 am

This was incredibly enjoyable. I could comment all night on how this guy truly hit home here. I think the video editing could have been tweeked slightly, but overall, every little nuance added to the brilliance of this video. fantastic!!!

What I envisioned at the end is that RedLetterMedia IS GL, and that he had a mega-facepalm, got drunk and made this video :)

This made my night. Thank you RedLetterMedia, and boon23!!!
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
November 3, 2011

Get ready to laugh your ass off and get blown away.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
9.5
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
10.0
One of the funniest things I have ever seen. Period. This is true therapy for any Star Wars fan. Cathartic, horrific, hysterical.

And if you have not discovered Half in the Bag since watching this review, then, well, you are missing out aren't you. Get to it.
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

23 reviews
 
52%
 
39%
 
9%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.9
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0(5)
Audio Editing
 
9.8(5)
Visual Editing
 
9.6(5)
Narrative
 
9.2(5)
Enjoyment
 
8.9(23)
View all user reviews View most helpful
Overall rating
 
8.6
Audio/Video Quality
 
5.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
9.0
Enjoyment
 
10.0
t,s a good review but the low quality video and the nadine subplot wasn,t necessary but overall good

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched
Digital
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Overall rating
 
8.5
Audio/Video Quality
 
7.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
7.0
Enjoyment
 
8.0
having recently watched Q2 star wars edits i wanted to re-watch what i believe to be the best star wars fanedit. this is a 70 min review in which our narrator takes apart the film and makes some interesting ideas as to were the film went wrong. it seems many an faneditor uses these reviews as a bench mark for how they'll tackle editing the star wars prequels.

your either gonna love or hate the narrators voice but for me the problem is often with the sub-plot. it's not really needed and often distracts from some interesting observations regarding the film. this is often my problem with the redlettermedia reviews, to often they go off track in order to tell a joke. given the choice i'd rather they cut all the crap and give more time in picking out the many faults in this film. much like the prequels themselves these i feel could do with a fanedit

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Format Watched
Digital
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
10.0
Audio Editing
 
10.0
Visual Editing
 
10.0
Narrative
 
10.0
Enjoyment
 
10.0
I am a huge fan of RLM and i would recommend every of Mr. Plinkets reviews.
also noteworthy "half in the bag", their regular series of film reviews.

User Review

Do you recommend this edit?
Yes
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 10, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by BladeRunner391 — May 10, 2012 @ 11:06 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: September 10, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
Review by hbenthow — August 18, 2011 @ 10:24 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
View all user reviews