Watchmen Legacy

Updated
 
0.0
 
8.7 (15)
2588 3 1

User reviews

15 reviews
 
40%
 
53%
 
7%
3-5 stars
 
0%
1-3 stars
 
0%
Overall rating
 
8.7
Audio/Video Quality
 
8.0(1)
Audio Editing
 
9.0(1)
Visual Editing
 
9.0(1)
Narrative
 
9.0(1)
Enjoyment
 
8.4(15)
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3
Ordering
(Updated: August 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
July 30, 2009 @ 6:03 pm

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
August 4, 2009 @ 11:15 am

*This rating was given before reviews were required*
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
10.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
10.0
July 28, 2009 @ 9:50 pm

What can I say I loved this fanedit. I didn’t care for the graphic novel, and don’t understand the obssesiveness over it. When I saw this I thought it was distractingly violent which took me out of the film and way too film school arty. Also it was unnecessarily long, everyone around me was snoring. But I do think Zack Snyder shot a good film its just not what ended up on the screen and the directors cut didn’t help. The main problem I had with this movie is that it felt like a pg-13 family film that had some extreme gore tagged on and a sex scene so it could be considered serious and adult. Your edit streamlined the film and was flawless, i couldn’t remember what was missing except for the really bad makeup scenes. The violence was kept in tact which made it even more graphic because everything was so compact, the removal of a lot of the songs was great and seamless. What can I say The Watchmen I saw in cinemas I give 5 stars for it looking good but had this version been released it would have made twice the money cut out a lot of bad word of mouth and pissed off the exact same amount of watchmen fans. Had it been pg-13 it would had made 3 times the amount of cash but I give props to warners for risking on the directors vision. Probably one of the best fanedits I’ve seen technically and which improved upon the viewing experience of someone who doesn’t care for the watchmen and gave them an entertaining version of the same story without the cutesy ending leaving you something to think about.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
9.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
9.0
August 12, 2009 @ 3:38 am

I loved Watchmen. Loved the comic, loved the theatrical cut, loved the directors cut. Still is my favorite movie this year. When I saw that geKKo had made a condensed cut of it, I was intrigued. While I hadn’t seen any of his work, he obviously had a lot of experience making condensing fanedits (Go Fast Edition).

Technical: I downloaded the M4V file and the quality was to be expected. I had no issue watching it full screen on my computer monitor (20″ 1680×1050). My one issue is that it looked like the video was zoomed in from the 2.4 AR the theatrical and directors cut had to the 1.85 AR the fanedit has. I’m not sure if this is a creative decision or not. It doesn’t effect the viewing that much, aside from some credits that get cut off during the title sequence.

Edits: I was amazed. Legacy cuts a lot of the depth and detail the directors cut had, but the end product is still a very good movie. I didn’t find myself actively missing material for the most part, save two sections. One is when one of the leaders of industry hints at a possible inquiry to Commie connections Veidt might have in his past, and the other is Dan having problems getting it up. The former gives Veidt a reason to say the line “So you want to know about my past?” and the latter gives Dan a reason for being afraid of his suit. Both kind of come out of nowhere in this edit. Aside from that, terrific editing choices.

Replacement Quality: For those who are already big Watchmen fans, this will not replace the Director’s Cut. For those who disliked the movie for either it’s pretentiousness or it’s length, Watchmen Legacy might help you appreciate the film more. Regardless, anyone interested should seek this edit out. It’s one of the shining examples of condensing a movie without losing the core themes and plot. I’ll definitely be looking at geKKo’s other edits.

Note: Haters of blue penis and those looking for a PG-13 cut need not apply. Watchmen Legacy is still a hard R and Doc’s schlong is still proudly on display.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
(Updated: August 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
6.0
Audio/Video Quality
 
N/A
Audio Editing
 
N/A
Visual Editing
 
N/A
Narrative
 
N/A
Enjoyment
 
6.0
September 2, 2009 @ 9:41 am

Faster paced. Yes. But I think not really better. And I cannot understand the zoomed aspect ratio. I give a 6.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 results - showing 1 - 5
1 2 3